When did the British leave Sri Lanka?

It succeeded when, on February 4, 1948, Ceylon was granted independence as the Dominion of Ceylon. Dominion status within the British Commonwealth was retained for the next 24 years until May 22, 1972 when it became a republic and was renamed the Republic of Sri Lanka.

Besides, why is Ceylon now called Sri Lanka?

The island was renamed Sri Lanka before which it was known by a variety of names including Sinhala,Thambaparni, Taprobane (used by the greeks), Eelam(name used by the native tamils).Ceylon was a westernised name, one that was given to the country by the British. That is why Ceylon was changed to Sri Lanka in 1972.

How long did the British rule Sri Lanka?

The History of British Ceylon began in 1815 when the Kandyan Kingdom fell into the hands of the British. It ended over 2300 years of Sinhalese monarchy rule on the island. The British rule on the island lasted until 1948 when the country gained independence.

Where did the name Ceylon come from?

The Persians and Arabs referred to it as Sarandīb (the origin of the word "serendipity") from the word Cerentivu. Ceilão, the name given to Sri Lanka by the Portuguese Empire when it arrived in 1505, was transliterated into English as Ceylon.

You May Like Also

  • What year did Myanmar get independence?
  • Why was there a British Empire?
  • When did the sun finally set on the British Empire?
  • When was the British Empire the largest?
  • Where did the British fight in ww2?
  • How did the British contribute to ww1?
  • What were the countries that were in the British Empire?
  • How do the British take their tea?
  • How do the British make tea?